The House in Russian Literature

More specifically covering Slavic and Russian culture, A. K. Baiburin is the author of a number of publications, ... Of primary importance for the history of the House as subject in 19th century Russian culture and literature are V.G. ...

The House in Russian Literature

The domestic theme has a tremendous anthropological, literary and cultural significance. The purpose of this book is to analyse and interpret the most important realisations and tendencies of this thematic complex in the history of Russian literature. It is the first systematic book-length exploration of the meaning and development of the House theme in Russian literature of the past 200 years. It studies the ideological, psychological and moral meanings which Russian cultural and literary tradition have invested in the house or projected on it in literary texts. Central to this study’s approach is the concept of the House Myth, consisting of a set of basic fabular elements and a set of general types of House images. This House Myth provides the general point of reference from which the literary works were analyzed and compared. With the help of this analytical procedure characteristics of individual authors could be described as well as recurrent patterns and features discerned in the way Russian literature dealt with the House and its thematics, thus reflecting characteristics of Russian literary world pictures, Russian mentalities and Russian attitudes towards life. This book is of interest for students of Russian literature as well as for those interested in the House as a cultural and literary topic, in the semiotics of literature, and in relations between culture, anthropology and literature.

More Books:

The House in Russian Literature
Language: en
Pages: 528
Authors: Joost van Baak
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-01-01 - Publisher: BRILL

The domestic theme has a tremendous anthropological, literary and cultural significance. The purpose of this book is to analyse and interpret the most important realisations and tendencies of this thematic complex in the history of Russian literature. It is the first systematic book-length exploration of the meaning and development of
A House of Gentlefolk (Classic of Russian Literature)
Language: en
Pages: 204
Authors: Ivan Turgenev
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-03 - Publisher: e-artnow

This eBook edition of "A House of Gentlefolk" has been formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Fyodor Ivanych Lavretsky is the child of a distant, Anglophile father and a serf mother who dies when he is very young. Lavretsky is brought up as
The Evolution of Space in Russian Literature
Language: en
Pages: 174
Authors: Katharina Hansen Love, Katharina Hansen Löve
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher: Rodopi

This book is concerned with the literary development of the narrative category of space in Russian literature from Romanticism until Modernism. It consists of two parts. The theoretical introduction renders a survey of some major 20-th century theories on literary development in the tradition of Russian Formalism and Czech Structuralism.
Freedom and Responsibility in Russian Literature
Language: en
Pages: 306
Authors: Robert Louis Jackson, Elizabeth Cheresh Allen, Gary Saul Morson
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995 - Publisher: Northwestern University Press

Robert Louis Jackson has long been recognized on both sides of the Atlantic as one of the foremost Dostoevsky scholars in the world. Freedom and Responsibility in Russian Literature collects twenty essays by distinguished scholars (many former students of Jackson's) and admiring colleagues on some of the foremost questions in
The House in the Garden
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: John Randolph
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-07-05 - Publisher: Cornell University Press

"Aspiring thinkers require a stage for their performance and an audience to help give their actions distinction and meaning. To be made durable and influential, their charismatic stories have to be framed by supporting ideals, practices, and institutions. Although the biographies of the Empire's most famous thinkers have a comfortable